Skip to content

eMail Our Military

July 2, 2009

eMOM Logo

For those of you who have been around for a while, you know I don’t blindly promote companies or organizations. I choose wisely who I’ll throw support to: after all, it might come back to haunt me one day.

I want to share with you a charitable organization that goes above and beyond boosting the morale of our troops.  Trish, President and Founder of eMailOurMilitary has become a friend of mine.  Through her and the incredible website, I’ve come to see just how much one person can impact the lives of others.

Earlier this week I’d decided (by Trish’s provocation of course) that at The Husband’s and my Annual Independence Day Shindig, I’d set aside a table and chair for our friends to fill out cards to send to our troops.  Last night as I was scheming ways to find the time to create homemade cards by Saturday evening, she sent me a link to their flickr page to help me along with my thought process.  I didn’t get far before I came across the photos of PFC Hunter Levine.  Immediately I clicked on the link to read his story.

I sat on my couch shaking with tears as I read the amazing story of how Trish rallied our Nation to send PFC Levine cards, packages, even some of the readers and participants in eMailOurMilitary visited Hunter at the hospital during his recovery.  Gary Sinise also became involved and paid a visit to Hunter in his recovery room.  After I read everything I could, I said a prayer for Hunter then immediately realized what a wonderful and amazing person I’d become friends with.

A few nights ago an article crossed my path about a gentleman in Dallas who’d run errands early in the morning to come home only to find his United States Marine Corps and United States of America flag burned on the pole hanging on the front of his home.  My heart broke for the 70 year old veteran, Ed Jordan.  I set to action to replace his flags.  Trish rallied with me, working non-stop to find a way to replace the gentleman’s flags.  In fact, Trish spread the story across the globe in a matter of minutes. She even got flag companies to donate flags to the gentleman.  Trish spoke to Mr. Jordan last night and was told that he was visited by a younger Marine veteran the night the story broke on the news who’d brought him a flag flown over Mosul.  Trish still sent the flags to Mr. Jordan that were donated by the flag companies.  No veteran should be without a flag on Independence Day.

I wish I could fully explain the impact yesterday’s events had on me.  I wish I could sit with each and every one of you reading this and tell you how deeply it affects our troops and our veterans to know that there are good, honest, supportive people out there.  I wish I could explain what it means to families of our troops to know they aren’t alone.

In honor of Independence Day, I’d like to ask that you consider becoming a part of the EMailOurMilitary community.  Becoming a member does not obligate you to spend any out of pocket money except for the registration fee to join.  It’s a commitment to write an email of encouragement and support to our troops.  5 minutes of your time can deeply impact our troops.

For my readers, I will pay the registration fee if you send me an email before midnight CST, July 4th.  You go to the site, print off the civilian registration form, write DELTA WHISKEY on the top and mail it to Trish.  I will send the funds when she receives the forms.

While you’re over there, stop in on the blog and drop a comment to Trish and thank her for her selfless dedication to our heroes.  In my mind, she’s a hero in her own rights: military wife, daughter and supporter.  It doesn’t get better than that.  She fills my heart with hope and joy.  I hope one day I can affect people the way she does.

Trish is also on Twitter, so if you’re a tweetin twit, pick her up on your follow list.  @MailOurMilitary I still haven’t figured out how I’m going to make the cards before Saturday night, but it will happen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 09:32

    Now I have tears in MY eyes. What a sweet post.

    I wanted to add a little something that I hope people will truly believe in their hearts – anyone can do something to make a difference. It doesn’t have to be a grand gesture either. Sometimes just lending a listening ear or always being someone’s biggest fan when things are down can make all the difference to that one person. We all have the power to make a difference to someone. If you’re on the internet and blogging that outreach just happens to be a little larger. =)

  2. Gail permalink
    July 4, 2009 22:51

    Anything to help and support our military. I am involved with Soldier’s Angels and it sounds like Trish has a wonderful organization also. Count me in!

    Our prayers are with the military folks both in harms way and here at home. We appreciate you and thank you for your sacrifice (your families too!)

Leave a Reply

