Skip to content

Chicken Salad Slow Down

August 5, 2009

ChickenSalad

Wow. Has it really been over a week since I stopped in and said hello to all of you?  I promise it’s not from lack of effort!  Have you ever known someone who can’t sit still?  That’s me.  I seem to always be running in a million different directions making as many people happy as I can.

A short update (ADD style):

A few weeks ago my dad had hernia surgery on the same day my grandmama was rushed to the ER via ambulance.  Those of you following me on Twitter already know the details of what happened.  In short, Grandmama is doing wonderful.  Her BP was out of control (understatement of the century).  Turns out she has polyps (small holes lining her throat) and was enjoying a wee-bit too much of her summer fare from the garden.  Some raw vegetables were lodged in her throat and her body didn’t know how to react.  Dad is doing great, he had an umbilical hernia removed (I teased and told him he’d been growing a twin for 60 some years).

Last week I was forced to take a few hours to myself when I gave myself a concussion with the trunk of my car.  It was truly relaxing and painful all at the same time.  Thanks to my friends who sat by my side for hours and hours on death watch. I appreciate you and love you!  Let’s not tell The Husband about this, mmkay?

In an effort to enjoy every moment of this life; this weekend I’m embarking on an adventure with my dad and brother.  Friday afternoon my dad and I are headed west to find my brother and then the three of us will be making our way to Texas for a short weekend of history, cowboys (cowgirls for them) and BBQ.  We can’t forget the Rodeo!  I haven’t been to one since I was a kid.  Growing up Kansas City style meant an annual field trip included a day at the American Royal, which probably did nothing to curb my love for cowboys. The camera is charged, tripod packed… cowgirl boots… well, it’s HOT in Texas right now!

The Husband should be returning from his training in less than 2 weeks.

Speaking of The Husband being gone, while I’m on mandatory separation from The Husband, I tend to make batch dinners… something that I can prepare once and reheat throughout the week or throw together and have dinner in 2 minutes flat.  One of the meals I rely on is chicken salad.  As a child, I loved chicken salad and begged my mom to make it all the time.  In adulthood, I’ve tried a million recipes but have determined that chicken salad is one of those flavors that is personal.  No matter what, I always tend to come back to my mom’s recipe.

Chicken Salad
Recipe courtesy of Mom

3 chicken breasts*
Olive oil
1/2 red onion, finely chopped
3 Dill pickle spears, cut into 1/4″ pieces
1 T pickle juice
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 t dill weed, plus 1/4 t for chicken
Pepper, to taste
2 T Dijon mustard
1/4- 1/2 c mayonnaise

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Clean and dry the chicken breasts.  Drizzle both sides with olive oil, then lightly season with dill (about 1/4t), salt and pepper.  Place in oven for about 20 minutes or until cooked through.  Remove and let rest until cool enough to handle.

Once the chicken has cooled, chop it into bite-sized pieces and place in a large bowl along with the remaining ingredients starting on the low side of mayonnaise.  Stir to combine, if the salad is dry, stir in a little more mayonnaise.  The pickle juice will go a long way in breaking down the mayonnaise so it’s not thick.  Season with pepper (salt shouldn’t be needed due to the pickles).

Serve in bibb lettuce or on a crusty roll.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 08:21

    Have a wonderful trip. It sounds like all of you are doing well after three separate medical issues. Hernias, ER and concussions-what a week! That chicken salad looks so yummy with all the dill. You’re giving me a craving! Have a great trip to Texas.

  2. August 6, 2009 14:58

    Chicken salad is a favorite of mine as well. Yours looks delicious!

    Have a great trip!

  3. Pamela permalink
    August 7, 2009 00:41

    IIIIII didnt know about this TX trip, does my Bro know about this TX trip???

  4. August 7, 2009 11:24

    Glad to know everyone is ok now.
    I love chicken salad!
    Have a great trip!

Leave a Reply

