Skip to content

Mango Peach Daiquiris

August 13, 2009

Daiquiris

The neighborhood is experiencing a bit of a growing pain this week as school officially started yesterday bringing the end of summer to a skidding halt.  Tuesday night I sat in the front yard and visited with the neighbors as they watched their kids play hard for the last hurrah.  

I have very few memories from childhood, simply a handful of  snapshot moments stuck in time.  One memory is the feeling of jealousy and injustice that I was going to school and did not have homework.  My brother had homework and he was cool.  I wanted to be a big kid!

As I sat in the driveway this past Tuesday night sipping a peach-mango daiquiri I felt silly for ever wishing life to hurry up and make me  a big kid.  I’m definitely a big kid now and the homework has been nonstop ever since. Of course it’s a different kind of homework, a good homework.  Like, say… cleaning the blender I used to make daiquiris for the neighbors.

Mango-Peach Daiquiris*
Ina Garten, The Barefoot Contessa

2 c chopped ripe mango (I used frozen)
1 c sliced peaches (I used frozen)
1/2 c fresh squeezed lime juice (4 limes- use the real deal)
1/4 c simple syrup
1 1/4 c dark rum
Fresh Peach slices, for serving

Place the frozen mango, peaches, lime juice, simple syrup and rum in a blender and process until smooth.  Add 2 c of ice and process again until smooth and thick.  Serve ice-cold in highball glasses with the peach slices.

*The original recipe is for Mango-Banana Daiquiris, of which I’m not a fan of banana drinks so switched banana for peaches which turned out to be a fantastic choice.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 18:37

    I can remember looking jealously at the older kids, wanting to be as sophisticated as they were. It has finally dawned on me, that sophistication is never going to land on me!

  2. August 13, 2009 22:06

    Wow…school started already! I’m desperately clinging to summer…my kids start in about 3 weeks. I love the peach idea. Cheers!

  3. August 13, 2009 22:29

    I so enjoyed these! Nice to know that the fruit can successfully be switched out.

  4. August 15, 2009 07:13

    I bet the peach was delicious in this drink. What a fun way to enjoy an evening with neighbors.

  5. August 15, 2009 13:43

    Yummy. Peach sounds like a great addition.

  6. August 16, 2009 10:54

    I love this recipe, so refreshing and tasty!

Leave a Reply

