Skip to content

Buffalo Chicken Bites

August 24, 2009

Buffalo Chicken

The week I was married I began menu planning.  I’ve never done a formal plan with charts and spreadsheets, just a simple list of what I was planning to cook along with a grocery list with all of the ingredients needed for that week.  Occasionally, I’d ask The Husband to participate in the week’s menu by incessantly asking what he’d like to eat and shoving cookbooks across the dining table toward him.  

Prep

Truth be told, The Husband has come up with some of the staples at our house.  Being the visual person he is: he opens a cookbook, points to a picture and says, “Why don’t you make that?”  The easy-going man hardly ever has a craving for anything other than what I’m preparing.  Last week, however, he came home from his month-long training where he noshed on MREs and said, “Please, I beg you… make something with taste.”  I’ll spare you the typical woman comment that flew from my mouth, but instead, share my recipe for boneless buffalo wings.  I only make these once every other year or so because we don’t eat a lot of fried foods, but when I do make them… rest assured, they are packed with taste.

Delta’s Boneless Buffalo Wings

2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 c buttermilk
1  1/2 t cayenne pepper (divided)
2 c flour (more as needed)
1  1/2 t garlic powder
1 t salt
1 t pepper
1 (2 oz) jar Tobasco sauce
2 T butter
Oil for frying

Rinse and dry the chicken breasts then cut them into large bite-sized pieces (about 1 1/2″).  Stir the buttermilk and 1/2 t cayenne into a shallow bowl and soak the chicken in the buttermilk mixture for at least 30 minutes, up to 8 hours.

Mix together the flour, garlic powder, salt, pepper and remaining cayenne in an additional shallow bowl.

Heat about 3/4″ oil in a heavy bottom skillet over medium-high heat until a drop of flour sizzles but doesn’t smoke.  Meanwhile, lightly drain the chicken and then toss in the flour mixture, back into the buttermilk then another coat of the flour mixture.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Once the oil is hot: in batches, lightly drop the coated chicken pieces into the oil.  Once the chicken has turned a light golden brown (about 2-3 minutes) turn the chicken pieces and cook the other side until light golden brown.  Once light brown all over, remove to a wire rack and cool slightly allowing the excess oil to drain.*

While working in batches, heat the butter and Tabasco in a small saucepan over low heat.  Once all of the chicken is fried and drained, transfer the chicken to a large bowl and toss with the Tobasco mixture.  Transfer to a foil lined, lightly greased cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes.

Serve with homemade ranch dressing and various cut vegetables.

*If you have the oil at the correct temperature, there shouldn’t be too much excess oil so don’t panic if you don’t have a bunch.

Drain

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2009 14:14

    I think I’m making this tonight. I love Buffalo wings.

  2. August 26, 2009 14:59

    I love this! I rarely fry things too…but this looks worth it.

    Try the dressing without anchovy…it won’t be a true caesar, but really it has so much flavor going on in other places I don’t think you’ll notice the difference!

    😉 amy

  3. August 27, 2009 09:30

    Cat, these look like something my husband would totally love! I’ve never done any kind of fried chicken (I don’t cook chicken at all actually) but he loves buffalo wings and it would be nice to try to make him some at home.

    I had to smile while reading this because I used to do the meal plan for the week when we first got married too (that went out the window once we had kids, but I’m trying to get back to it) and I still make him look (okay, glance) at a cookbook every now and then and pick something out for me to make him since we have such different tastes.

  4. Ross Pulliam permalink
    August 30, 2009 17:03

    Uh, how long have we been friends and you’ve never made these for me?

    WTF!

  5. September 2, 2009 16:01

    When I saw the picture I thought, “Yum! I can’t wait to see how she health-i-fied these!” Haha. Oh well, they look amazing in original, fried form!

Leave a Reply

