Skip to content

Birthday Sheet Cake

September 10, 2009

Cake

My friend Pamela’s favorite cake is a yellow cake with chocolate frosting.  It’s not her birthday and I didn’t make the cake for her, but instead made Ina Garten’s Birthday Sheet Cake for The Husband who has been moping around the house because I gave away almost the entire apple slab pie I made last weekend.  If history is any sort of predictor, I’ll be giving away most of this cake as well.

Although this is a perfectly good cake, just a tad dry, thank goodness I didn’t make it for Pamela’s birthday because the cake isn’t even close to my favorite.  I halved the recipe and only made a small cake and then frosted it with my own buttermilk chocolate frosting (a current addiction that I’m seeking professional help for).

Guess I’ll have to keep working on a cake recipe for her… but for now, give the chocolate buttermilk frosting a chance.  You will not regret it.

Chocolate Buttermilk Frosting
Delta Whiskey

1 (4 oz) bar dark chocolate
2 T butter
1/4 c buttermilk (more or less)
1 lb confectioner’s sugar (more or less)

Melt the chocolate and butter in a small saucepan or skillet allow to cool slightly.  Transfer to a large bowl and whisk in buttermilk and confectioner’s sugar.

Additional confectioner’s sugar or buttermilk may be needed to reach desired consistency.

**Update**

As I’m speaking with my friend Pamela she explains to me that her favorite cake, in fact, is Chocolate with White Frosting.  She just makes the yellow with chocolate frosting for everyone else because she knows that’s what they want.  Done and done. She’s getting the best chocolate cake with white fluffy icing for her birthday in November.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 11:20

    I also found the cake a bit dry and am also glad I halved it 🙂

    And ooh, thanks for sharing your chocolate buttermilk frosting! I’m always on the hunt for new frosting ideas. Looks delish!

  2. September 10, 2009 15:31

    Your frosting looks fabulous! This wasn’t even close to my favorite cake recipe either.

  3. September 10, 2009 19:36

    I also halved it, but baked it in thin layers with more cream, and I actually liked it. Looking forward to seeing the cake you create for your friend!

  4. September 10, 2009 21:26

    I totally agree. While I gussied up this cake with vanilla pudding (hoping to tone done the dense and dry cake), I won’t repeat making this one. I do have a fabulous chocolate cake and fluffy white frosting recipe on my blog. Are you ready to make cake #2 in two weeks. I need to hide my bathroom scale!

  5. September 11, 2009 06:26

    Well it looks great, looking forward to seeing the next one!

Leave a Reply

