Skip to content

Twice Baked Mashed Potatoes

April 13, 2009

cooked-baked-mash-pot-cass

I seem to surround myself with picky eaters.  When I first met my good friend Stephanie, she absolutely refused to even try new things.  Over the past two years (holy cow, I can’t believe we’ve been here for 2 years!) she has gradually picked up spoon after spoon to try new creations of mine.  Recently she discovered she likes Nutella, avacados, tomatoes (sparingly), zucchini and all sorts of other things.  

I try to have something “normal” for her when she comes to dinner every other weekend or so…  normal is any dish that includes potatoes.  A few weeks ago I made a Twice Baked Mashed Potato Casserole.  I had way too much time on my hands.  It was sleeting and I had all of the ingredients.  Sidenote: Kansas weather is crazy.  

Twice Baked Mashed Potatoes can be anything you want it to be.  Whatever you want on a baked potato, put it in with your mashed potatoes instead!  Your pickiest eater will love it!

Twice Baked Mashed Potatoes
A Cat Concoction that she stole from her mom…

1/2 red onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
4 slices bacon, cooked*
2 1/2 lbs Russet potatoes, peeled
2 T butter, quartered
1/2 c sour cream
Salt & lots of pepper
1 c shredded cheddar, divided
4 scallions, thinly sliced 

In a skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Cook onions and garlic until tender but not browned.  Transfer to a large bowl Set aside as you prepare the potatoes.

Halve the peeled potatoes lengthwise, then quarter lengthwise.  Cut the potatoes into similar sizes (about 1″ cube) and place into a large stockpot.  Cover potatoes with cold water (do not add too much water as my grandmother says this can make the potatoes soggy).  Place on a burner over medium-high heat and bring to a  boil.  Boil for 15-20 minutes or until a fork can be inserted into a tender potato.  Drain the potatoes and return to the hot pot.  

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. 

twice-baked-mash-cass

Add butter, salt, pepper and sour cream and start mashing away.  Stir in the sauteed onions and garlic, 3/4 c cheese, half of the bacon and half of the chopped scallions.  Transfer to a casserole dish.  Top with remaining cheese, bacon and scallions.  

picture-024

Bake for about 20 minutes or until the cheese melts.

dinner

* I actually cook my bacon in the oven.  Place bacon slices on a sheet pan lined with foil and bake at 350 degrees for about 10-15 minutes (your desired crispness).  I’m just too Monkish to want to clean up the mess of frying bacon.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 11:53

    Oh, this looks fantastic. I’m always on the lookout for a new potato recipe, and this looks like something we would totally demolish. Score!

  2. April 13, 2009 13:48

    I am in love with you, seriously. Bacon, potatoes, cheese…oh yeah…

    I am totally over this weather. When will spring finally be sprung?

  3. April 14, 2009 13:13

    Oh yummy! I am getting a craving for spuds, they seem to be popular today!

  4. Christine permalink
    April 14, 2009 19:21

    I cook my bacon in the oven 2. I just like how it comes out and it is sooo good. Your twice baked mashed potatoes look divine. I am having company over for dinner on Saturday and was thinking mac and cheese with the hamburgers but now I’m thinking mashed potatoes!! So glad your friend tried nutella it is the best!!

  5. April 16, 2009 19:52

    Oh how I love potatoes. And Cheese. And Bacon. I must try this.

  6. April 17, 2009 06:05

    This is a definite will make first opportunity I get. I love potatoes (must be the Irish side of the family coming through!)

  7. April 18, 2009 00:15

    These look like a little bit of heaven! Potatoes, cheese, bacon, what more do you need?! 😉

Leave a comment